For Sherlock Fans “The Sign of Thor”

The Client

The Chief Advisor smiled somewhat sardonically at the Client on the opposite side of the desk.

 

“ I see you’ve been energetically following our advice, and are having astounding success”

 

“It’s been huge- HUGE I’m booming- just booming ” responded the Client. “I’ve won a majority of delegates in sixty states. It’s unprecedented!”

 

“Actually ,” murmured the CA-“ you might recall there are only fifty states,”

 

“ Minor detail,” replied the Client. “ If I got hung up on every tiny minor detail crowds wouldn’t rush to my rallies. They wouldn’t call me the Gold King. I wouldn’t be huge. Which I am.”

 

“ Understood-but I suggest that a slightly more measured tone might be helpful at this stage- a bit more statesmanlike… not calling your opponent “ Flatulent Fibbin’ Freddy” for instance.. or referring to orphans as “Losers” ”

 

“ My opponent, that sleaze, whose wife looks like a potato, viciously attacked me . He  said my public charities are a screen to cover my private iniquities”

 

“ Isn’t that true?”

 

“So what-how else could I get elected?

All my life I’ve been a man that reached out his hand for what he wanted. I can make or break-and it is usually break. I’m large –huge beyond the belief of an ordinary man.

Business is a hard game-and the weak go to the wall. I understand business-that’s why I’m huge in politics. Really huge.

I’m number one in over one hundred and twenty polls-even in Saudi Arabia and parts of Croatia wherever that is . That’s because I do it my way.

 

I’ll see you next week,” said the Client, and he marched out of the office, slamming the door behind him.

 

The sign on the door read

Moriarty, Moran, Milverton & Sons

Political Advisors since 1895

 EJ Wagner

(A version of this piece appeared in spring 2016 edition of  “Prescott’s Press”)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

